Roberto Morandotti

Roberto Morandotti joined the Institut National de  la Recherche Scientifique (INRS) – Centre Énergie Matériaux et Télécommunications in 2003, as an Associate Professor, becoming full Professor in 2008. He has a broad experience in nonlinear optics, where he has established a remarkable track record during the last five years. In particular, his expertise ranges from the fabrication of micro and nano- photonic structures to the use of various characterization techniques in optics. His recent interests include the study of optical discrete solitons in AlGaAs nonlinear arrays and of spatio-temporal solitons (light bullets) in glass and magneto-optic waveguides, novel materials for optoelectronics, all optical switching at ultra low powers and in the THz regime, etc. He is author/coauthor of more than 250 journal and conference papers, including over 25 articles in PRL and Nature Photonics, as well as over 100 invited papers and seminars. He has served as the general co-chair of the Soliton Workshop (Toronto, Canada 2004), as a Program Chair for Nonlinear Guided Wave 2005 (OSA Topical Meeting, Dresden, Germany), as a General Chair for the Nonlinear Optics Conference associated to Photonics North 2005 (Toronto, Canada)  as well as a General Chair for Nonlinear Photonics 2007 (OSA Topical Meeting, Quebec City, Canada, 2005). In addition, he has served as a committee member for several OSA, SPIE and IEEE conferences.


Academic Societies and Memberships

1. Member, OSA (Optical Society of America), Fellow Candidate 2010.
2. Member, IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).
3. Member, CIPI (Canada Institute for Photonics Innovation)
4. Member, PROMPT Québec. 
5. Member, PLASMA Québec.
6. Member, NANOQUÉBEC.
7. Member, COPL (Le Centre d’optique, photonique et laser).
Professional Recognitions, Honors and Awards


1. Fellow (2014) of the American Physical Society for "Pioneering contributions in discrete optics, nonlinear dynamics, and nonlinear optics in the THz domain".
2. Fellow (2014) of the Institute of Physics.
3. Excellence Prize for Scholar Merit, Rotary Association, 1986 PhD fellowship, Bilateral UK – Israeli Fund, 1996–1998. 
4. Postdoctoral Fellowship, EPRSC (UK), 1999 Postdoctoral Fellowship, Weizmann Institute of Science, 2000-2001. 
5. Marie Curie European Community Fellowship, 2001·Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Toronto, 2002.
6. FQRNT (Fonds québécois de la recherche sur la nature et les technologies) Strategic Professor, 2003-3008.
7. Associated Editor for the Journal “Advances in Nonlinear Optics”.
8. Associated Editor for the Journal “Research Letters in Optics”.
9. Editor of the Book: Proceedings of the SPIE Conference Photonic North, September 2005, Photonic Applications in Nonlinear Optics, Nanophotonics, and Microwave Photonics, edited by Roberto Morandotti, Harry E. Ruda, Jianping Yao, Proc. of SPIE Vol. 5971 (2005).
10. Chair and Member of Program Committees and International Advisory Committees for a number of International Conferences and Workshops.
11. Regular Visiting Professor at the Weizmann Institute of Science (Rehovot, Isarael): 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008.
12. OSA distinguished Lecturer (since 2006).
13. Featured Press Release: « La Lumière Domptée »  by A. Perrault-Labelle, Découvrir 26, 8 (2005).
14. Featured in the 2004 and 2006 December Issue “Photonics of the Year” of Optics and Photonics News (OPN). In this special number the Editors discuss what are, in their opinion,  the most promising among the recent breakthroughs in Optics.




Ultrafast Optical Processing Group

INRS-EMT Université du Québec

1650 Blvd. Lionel Boulet, Varennes, Québec J3X 1S2, Canada

Tel:  +1 (450) 929 8124,   Fax: +1 450 929-8102

email:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it